Chakra’s – Energy Within

Posted on May 20, 2012


Energy is something that is not easy to comprehend it is something can be felt such as a warming sensation in the embrace of another, or felt like fear from the barking of a dog.  What is this energy?  Energy is found within everything, it can be found as dense matter like rock or as be etherial as thoughts. It has been said that by bringing the body and mind to stillness one can experience energy residing in several conscious centres within us.  These seven major energy centers have been known to many cultures through ancient history as The Chakra system.  The mental phenomenon of the west has delineated these layers of our being to a sleeping shadow within us.   We have so highly developed our mental analytical mind that we are mostly unaware of these energetic intelligences at work within us except through instinctual or random behavior.  It is becoming increasingly imperative to know these energy centers within our bodies as they have much wider importance to a person’s general health and wellbeing than we give credit.

The 7 main Chakra’s are distributed into 4 parts of the body each corresponding to a level of energetic vibration:

Muladhara Chakra (Root, Coccyx)

 This Chakra functions include physical, emotional grounding, tending to survival needs, taking basic care of body, safety, security, and stillness. It controls physical being and sexual impulses  and is also attuned to a deeper primal subconscious.  The body parts associated with this Chakra is the base of the spine, the legs, feet and large intestine, genito-uninary system.

Svadisthana Chakra (Hips, sacrum, genitals)

The function is to be one’s own place or base, to have emotional, sensual movement of life, at ease with going with flow, sensuality, emotions, intimacy & desire, circulation, urination, menstruation, orgasm, tears.  It corresponds to lower vibrations/feelings of jealousy, envy, desire, anger.  The body parts associated are the hips, sacrum, lower back, genitals, womb, bladder, kidneys

Manipura (Naval/solar plexus)

Is involved with self-esteem, a “warrior” energy, it gives the power of transformation, governs digestion, metabolism, can take risks, assert our will, take responsibility for our life, controls actions such as ambition, possession, conquest.

Anahata Heart (Heart centre, upper chest, upper back)

It is the balancing point integrating world of matter with world of spirit.  This chakra opens and connects with harmony and peace.  Controls our emotional being such as love and hatred.  Interconnected with breathing and functions of the lungs and heart.

Visuddha Chakra-  (Neck, throat, jaw, and mouth)

Resonates with our inner truth and helps us find a personal way to convey our voice to the outside world. The communication we make through writing and speaking are all fifth chakra ways to express ourselves. Sound is related to this Chakra hence the effects music on our being.  It is linked with the respiratory organs.

Ajna Chakra (Third Eye, located between brow)

Known as “the perception center”.  The sixth chakra is located between and just above the physical eyes, creating the a subtle vision, the “third eye”.  It controls the will and dynamism of our mental activities.  While our two eyes see the material world, our sixth chakra sees beyond the physical and intellectual activities.  The sixth chakra is involved in both the creation, perception, imagination and recognition of what we see.   This Chakra is fed and influenced by what we see internally & externally.  Linked with the brain and secretory functions of the pituitary glands

Sahasrara Chakra (Crown/top of head)

It serves as the crown of the chakra system, it has the overall control of every aspect of the body and mind.  It communicates with the higher mental realms known as the illumined mind/intuitive mind.   it creates the belief systems that control our thoughts and actions.  Meditation is the yogic practice best suited for bringing this chakra into balance allowing the mind to become more present, clear, and insightful.

These Energetic centres can be in varying states of balance, contributing to our spiritual, mental, physical and emotional states of wellbeing.  This balance manifests itself in various states within our lives, showing itself in a headache, sudden sadness, extreme amounts of energy, creative inspiration or disease.  Depending on the level of conscious awareness it is possible to bring this system into balance.  A yogic approach of balance will be explored in further articles to come.